BPMN Subprocess Marker

BPMN Subprocess Marker

The BPMN Subprocess Marker article provides a detailed explanation of the subprocess marker, including the BPMN notation, an example diagram and guidelines.

The BPMN Subprocess Marker article focus on the definition and usage of the different types of subprocess markers as documented in the BPMN 2.0 specification. The example process diagram illustrates the correct use of the subprocess markers. The BPMN Guidelines section contains a detailed set of rules that apply to the subprocess markers and explains how the markers may or may not be used within the different BPMN diagrams.

What is a Subprocess Marker?

“BPMN specifies five types of standard markers for Sub-Processes. The (Collapsed) Sub-Process marker can be combined with four other markers: a loop marker or a multi-instance marker, a Compensation marker, and an Ad-Hoc marker. A collapsed Sub-Process MAY have one to three of these other markers, in all combinations except that loop and multi-instance cannot be shown at the same time.” ~ BPMN Specification

BPMN Notation

The BPMN specification defines the Subprocess Markers using the following description and notation:

LoopThe marker for a Sub-Process that loops MUST be a small line with an arrowhead that curls back upon itself.
Multi-InstanceThe marker for a Sub-Process that has multiple instances MUST be a set of three vertical lines in parallel.
CompensationThe marker for a Sub-Process that is used for compensation MUST be a pair of left facing triangles.
Ad-HocThe marker for an ad-hoc Sub-Process MUST be a “tilde” symbol.

BPMN Notation: Subprocess Markers


This article provided a detailed explanation of the BPMN Subprocess Markers. Follow me on any of the different social media platforms, and feel free to leave comments.