BPMN Task Marker

BPMN Task Marker

The BPMN Task Marker article provides a detailed explanation of the task marker, including the BPMN notation, an example diagram and guidelines.

The BPMN Task Marker article focus on the definition and usage of the different types of task markers as documented in the BPMN 2.0 specification. The example process diagram illustrates the correct use of the task markers. The BPMN Guidelines section contains a detailed set of rules that apply to the task markers and explains how the markers may or may not be used within the different BPMN diagrams.

What is a Task Marker?

“BPMN specifies three types of markers for a Task: a Loop marker or a Multi-Instance marker and a Compensation marker.” ~ BPMN Specification

BPMN Notation

The BPMN specification defines the Task Markers using the following description and notation:

LoopThe marker for a Task that is a standard loop MUST be a small line with an arrowhead that curls back upon itself.
Multi-InstanceThe marker for a Task that is a multi-instance MUST be a set of three vertical lines.
CompensationThe marker for a Task that is used for compensation MUST be a pair of left facing triangles

BPMN Notation: Task Markers


This article provided a detailed explanation of the BPMN Task Markers. Follow me on any of the different social media platforms, and feel free to leave comments.